Posted by: adbhutam | March 27, 2020

Pancharatnam of Srimad Appayya Dikshitendra

Pancharatnam is a short work of Srimad Appayya Dikshitendra in praise of Siva-lingas located in five different holy places in Tamil Nadu that represent the five Mahabhutas or elements. Lord Ekamranatha of Kanchi, Lord Jambukeshvara of Tiruvanaikkaval, Lord Arunachaleshvara of Tiruvannamalai, Lord Kalahastishvara, and Lord Chitsabhesha of Chidambaram represent
the Prthivi (Earth), Jala (Water), Agni (Fire), Vayu (Air) and the Akasha Mahabhutas respectively.

These five verses and the sixth one giving the phala-stuti were found scattered in different places in Srimad Appayya Dikshitendra Vijayam of Sri KV Subrahmanya Sastrigal, a descendant of Dikshitendra. An attempt has been made, by the Tamil Smarta, to collect all of them and present them here.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Srimad Appayya Dikshitendra Vijaya of Sri KV Subrahmanya Sastrigal; Publishers: Janardana Press, Kumbhakonam; Year of publication: 1933.

Ayurvedic Doctor Sri Gokulakrishnan Iyer of Srirangam has rendered the five shlokas in a soul stirring way.

श्रीमदप्पय्यदीक्षितेन्द्रपरब्रह्मणे नमः ।

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: